Neccie's Creations

Just another WordPress.com site

Makin it My Way Monday: Scarf Clutch July 12, 2010

Filed under: crafts,purse,tutorial — necciescreations @ 1:01 pm

Hi everybody as you can read from the title its Makin it My Way Monday, well i would like it to be that day. Every Monday starting today I am going to try to post a tutorial on how to make something my way. I am not the most technical person. I don’t measure well or really at all most of the time. I can sew uneven all of the time, but in the end I make things that I think are cute and fairly easy to make. Some of you may remember the green scarf I turned into a clutch for a mommy to be as a baby shower gift. If you don’t thats ok I am going to show you how to turn a scarf (or in my case today a bandanna) into a clutch purse.

Materials you will need:
A scarf or bandanna (a square one works well, but others can be used)
needle and thread (you could use a sewing machine)
a brooch, pin, or a zipper
if you would like the clutch to be more sturdy you will want a piece of fabric for the lining.

What to do?:

Step 1: Take your scarf or bandanna and start by folding it in half and then fold in half agian. I played around with floding it and then folding a part down as a flap to figure out the size I wanted my clutch.

Step 2: Cut of the excess fabric leaving 1 to 2 inches more than the size you wanted.

Step 3: Unfold the scarf or bandanna so its only folded in half once and lay it on your lining. I just pinned it down and cut around the fabric. Make sure you do no cut or scarf or bandanna.

Step 4: put right sides together so that the wrong size of the lining is facing you. Fold scarf or bandanna back in half and sew up the sides. do not sew the top. The bottom should be the fold where you folded it in half.

Step 5: Turn the fabric to the right side. (I realized at this point you will have to pieces of bandanna and 1 piece of lining on both size. this is how you know you have it turned the right way).
Step 6: Fold a piece over to make the flap and take a 1 to 2 inch piece of strap that easily goes around your wrist and has alittle extra room and make a strap. Sew the strap on the back of your clutch. (I sewed this pieces through one layer that way it would not affect the size of my clutch).
Step 7: With some more straps make a cute flower pin that will be the closer on your flap or use a pin or brooch you already have. (I made the cute flower pin on my cluctch with straps from the lining and bandanna and hot glued a button in the center.)
Step 8: Fold your flap over and pin it closed. Now you have a cute clutch that is made from a scarf or banndanna.

If you have any questions feel free to ask me. I will answer them all. If you can’t make this I will be selling this item and more very soon. Just email me if your intrested. I am also posting this blog to the following blog hops:

MarketingMondaysThe Girl CreativeMaking Tuesday Tag-AlongNightOwlCrafting

 

8 Responses to “Makin it My Way Monday: Scarf Clutch”

  1. Michelle L. Says:

    Yay, a tutorial! I think this red one is even cuter than the green one. Love the flowers on both of them. Thanks for saying "I can sew uneven all of the time." I resemble that remark, hee hee!

  2. I can't sew at all, but I really wanna try this! Awesome!

  3. Laura Says:

    This is so cute. Thanks for the tutorial. I can't wait to make this!

  4. Mystee Says:

    Newest follower from Tag a long Tuesday…Hope you'll stop by too {5 current giveaways too}http://amomentwithmystee.blogspot.com/2010/07/tag-along-tuesday.html

  5. Staci J Says:

    How clever are you!! I Love this bright colored rustic clutch!Visiting from justsewsassy.com

  6. thanks for all the nice comments ladies =]

  7. Cameron Says:

    I’m a new follower from Tuesday Tag Along! I look forward to reading more of your posts!http://www.ingenuemom.com

  8. Chickenista Says:

    New follower from Tuesday hophttp://www.chickenista-reviews.blogspot.comhttp://www.chickenista.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

